Published February 21, 2020 by Stuart Reid




In honor of Bill Gessner, cooperative hero and primary creator of
the Four Cornerstones in Three Stages Food Co-op Development
model, the food co-op community will make an annual award
to recognize excellence in food co-op development.
The award winner will be chosen from applications submitted
by startup food co-ops in Stage 2b (business planning and final
feasibility) or Stage 3 (implementation after site commitment).
Criteria for selection include:

  • effective use of the 4-in-3 model
  • strong community organizing and support
  • realistic prospects of feasibility.

The award will include a grant of $2,000.

To apply, click here and fill out the on-line application form.
Applications for 2020 will be accepted until April 15, 2020.

The winner will be publicly recognized at the CCMA Conference.